Success Stories

Heather, age 54, was denied Social Security Disability several times and was running out of time as her date of last insured was 2023. She suffered from fibromyalgia, migraines, and mental health issues. Social Security had ruled several times that her conditions were not severe enough to warrant a favorable Social Security decision. In early 2023, Heather reached out to attorney Chris Zimmerman, who agreed to assist Heather in her final Social Security attempt. Again, her initial application and first appeal were denied – leaving her with one final opportunity to argue her case in front of an administrative law judge. Chris argued that Heather’s conditions when considered alone may not be severe enough to warrant a favorable decision. However, the judge agreed with Chris’ arguments that it was the combination of her conditions that made it extremely difficult for Heather to maintain employment and issued a fully favorable award.

************************************************************

Troy, age 34, injured his shoulder while loading a pallet with large products at work. Shortly after his injury, his employer filed for bankruptcy. The bankruptcy added another level of complexity to Troy’s situation as he did not have an employer to return to after his injury healed. Despite the bankruptcy, Chris Zimmerman and the staff at Harvey & Carpenter were able to help Troy continue his medical care while receiving on-going wage loss payments for several months. Ultimately, securing a $92,500 settlement for Troy’s injuries.

************************************************************

Brian injured his back while working as a mechanic.  The workers compensation insurer paid wage loss benefits up to the statutory maximum for temporary benefits.  After these benefits were exhausted, Chris Carpenter successfully obtained a settlement of $240,000. In addition, he was successful in getting Brian on Social Security disability providing Brian with back pay of appoximately $50,000 and an ongoing stream of income benefits.

************************************************************

Nicole developed carpal tunnel syndrome and claimed it as a work related injury. The workers’ compensation insurer hired a doctor who opined it was not related to work. She had the surgery and missed a few weeks of work. Nicole hired Chris Carpenter to represent her. Chris was able to get all of her medical bills paid and plus $5,000 to her for her past and future wage loss.

************************************************************

Manuel developed stomach pain while lifting a heavy object at work.  He learned he had a hernia and required surgery. He had a prior history of an untreated hernia. So, when he reported the injury, the workers’ compensation insurer claimed his condition was pre-existing and not related to his work. Chris Carpenter was able to get Manuel is medical bills paid and additional money for his wage loss.

************************************************************

Jake, age 55, had a long history of back pain and worked in a field requiring heavy lifting. He had a medical history involving prior treatment for his back including use of pain medications up until he aggravated his back at work while doing some heavy lifting.  Initially, the workers’ compensation insurer refused to pay for anything. Jake retained Chris Carpenter and soon wage loss and medical benefits were paid for a full year. Then the workers’ compensation insurer hired its doctor and denied the claim stating his condition was all due to prior problems –  stopping all benefits completely.  A judge ruled that it was likely that Jake’s condition was no longer due to his job; Chris appealed that decision and was able to obtain a settlement of $52,000.

************************************************************

Steve, age 58, had worked in the construction industry for many years. He had been at his current job for about 4 years when his back started hurting him. He did not know at the time that he could claim a work injury and missed work for 4 months before coming to Harvey and Carpenter. Chris Carpenter put the employer on notice of a Gillette or cumulative trauma injury soon after meeting with Steve. The employer denied the injury and denied proper notice was given. The employer argued that his condition was pre-existing, that his prior work likely caused his back condition, and that his age also was a factor, but not his work with the employer. At hearing, the employer conceded that notice was adequate, but still denied an injury occurred. After testimony from various witness, the Court found that Steve did have a work injury and was entitled to 10 months of wage loss benefits.

************************************************************

Brett was a 35 year old who suffered from depression and serious back problems. He had once been on Social Security but lost the benefits when Social Security determined he had improved and was no longer disabled. Brett retained Chris Carpenter who obtained more evidence of the extent of Brett’s mental illness. After a hearing with a medical expert, the judge ruled that Brett was disabled and entitled to Social Security Disability benefits.

************************************************************

Chris Carpenter represented an injured worker at hearing relating to his shoulder injury, which happened while working overtime. Even though the Employer and Insurer denied his injuries and had a medical opinions to support their case, Chris was able to persuade the judge that the injuries were work-related. As a result, the injured employee’s medical bills totaling more than $15,000 were paid. Chris also obtained an award for over $20,000 in wage loss and disability benefits for his client.

************************************************************

Our client had a work-related injury due to a car accident while on the job. Chris Carpenter negotiated a $225,000 settlement for his client plus an agreement with the insurer that his client’s future medical care will be provided by workers’ compensation insurer. This is all in addition to the benefits the client had already received, which totaled more than $150,000.